The Lonely Little Girl


The lonely little girl in the corner
She knows everything about me
Better than I know myself, much better
And I wish I had heard her long before

‘Cause when I looked brave and told you to go away
The lonely little girl in the corner was begging you to stay
So she just wept quietly in the corner
‘Cause I was too proud to care for her prayer

(And you know, I lied…
I did lie when I said I wanted you to go
‘Cause actually I wish you had stayed
But the lonely little girl just knows…)

And for every word from my lips that made you hurt badly
The lonely little girl in the corner cried tears desperately
So she just held her teddy bear and rolled down a tear
Because all she wanted to say, I had no intention to hear

(And you know, I regretted…
I did regret the way I hurt you so
‘Cause when I hurt you, I broke my heart as bad
And the lonely little girl just knows…)

Each time I told myself you’re no more than a dream
The lonely little girl in corner yelled a painful scream
Because she knew one little thing I didn’t realize
That maybe you’re the one would make me believe

(And you know, I was scared…
I was scared you were really just a dream, no more
‘Cause you might disappear, it’s the only thing I feared
And the lonely little girl just knows…)

It was a long time ago, and now you have left
And now the lonely little girl has only a tear left
She calls me from the corner, and gives it to me
To cry for you being gone, and left me here all alon

She had told me before
And I had known it before
That my heart would be broken, once again
Long before you left, I had known….

Leave a Reply

