Bitter Truth, Sweet Lie


I love you and you love me
But we can’t stay together anyway
It’s bitter truth no. 1

I love you and you love me
But you’ve got your girl and I’ve got mine
It’s bitter truth no. 2

I love you and you love me
But all we do to keep our love seem wrong
It’s bitter truth no. 3

Baby, can’t you see that I’m sick of bitter truths?
I wish they were not real, I wish they disappeared
So please brighten my days by telling me some sweet lies

Maybe you could start with a simple line
A simple line said “I love you”
And so sweet lie no. 1 makes me smile

Then you could go on with love letters
A sentence “I can’t live without you” written in your handwriting
And so sweet lie no. 2 makes me cry a joyful tear

Or perhaps you would move on and give me a kiss
A kiss on my lips that said we’re meant to be together
And so sweet lie no. 3 leaves me something to miss

Baby, can’t you see that those sweet lies make me smile?
I wish they were the real ones, I really wish
And, you see, I won’t mind it anyway, as long as you’re here

As time goes by
Life must go on, life does go on
And that leaves us no way out

As time goes by
You and I realize that
Whether bitter truths or sweet lies, lead us to nowhere

1, 2, 3 bitter truths
The real ones that make me weep under my blanket
1, 2, 3 sweet lies
The fake ones that make me smile only for a moment

So now I am just standing here
Knowing that I love you and you love me
Is the only sweet truth you and I ever have.

Leave a Reply

