I Love You, A Lot


Hey, Darling, what’s wrong?
Why are you so nervous
And glance at me every five seconds?
I looked down at my gown
And said, do I look ugly in this dress?
Or maybe, I have something stuck between my teeth?

You finally smiled, and said
No, Baby, there’s nothing wrong about you
It’s just that, I want to ask you something
But I have too little courage to speak it
And I don’t know where to start from
You looked at me, and then you knelt on one knee

Marry me, you said
Marry me and make me the happiest man ever
Maybe I’m not too handsome, or too wealthy, or too smart
But I know that I love you, and that won’t change
Maybe these words seem weird
But I love you from the bottom of my heart

So I was caught in surprise
And I said the first thing came into my mind
Did you know that I snore? I said
And did you know that I curse, when the weight scale fails me?
You almost laughed to hear my words
But that didn’t stop you from saying

Marry me, you said
Marry me and make me the happiest man ever
Who cares if you snore? Who cares if the weight scale sometimes measures it wrong?
They don’t change the fact
That your eyes shine like stars
And your smile turns my days perfect

I lost control of myself
And started crying
But a smile was there, on my lips
So you kissed every teardrop on my cheeks
Without bothering other people staring at us
And whispered to my ears

Marry me, you said
Marry me and make me the happiest man ever
Maybe there will be times you get angry with me
Or maybe there will be times you get bored with me
If times like that come
Just close your eyes and remember this day

Days come and go, that was a long time ago
I’ve lost my count on years we’ve spent together
I think of you, of us, of our togetherness
While watching you sleeping beside me
I look down at my fingers and see the ring
And I remember how you put it there while saying

Marry me, you said
Marry me and make me the happiest man ever
They say no one knows what will happen
And who knows what future holds?
But I know one thing that won’t change forever
That I love you, a lot.

Leave a Reply

