We Have Paid the Price


Being a doctor is a noble way to ruin your circadian cycle.

Imagine having 6-10 shifts a week, not including the “regular office hours” from 7 a.m. to 2 p.m. everyday. Imagine standing watching surgical procedures from morning to noon and skipping lunch, continued with attending some fellows’ case presentation until evening. Imagine spending more time at the hospitals than at your own home. Imagine having to finish a case report in the middle of such hectic schedules, and no one cares because everyone’s doing exactly the same. Imagine being scolded in front of patients and friends, and you have to be patient even if you’re not in a good mood. Imagine the obligation to smile to every patient, answer every question, and complete every task given to you, even if you’re lacking sleep – and when you can’t, it’s because you ‘didn’t work hard enough’.

Sorry, we’re doctors. We don’t do holidays.

3083572445e463b781ff3c24aaef1242

Some may say being a doctor is great, that being a doctor equals happiness, wealth, high social status, etc. Yet, if anything happens, they blame us. People said we are not good, we didn’t study enough, we lack of moral discipline, we only go for money, we underestimate people’s life, etc.

Stop judging us. We know we must not make mistakes, because we deal with human life. We are trying our best not to make any, but sometimes bad things just happen. We are not God. We are not superheroes. We are only human, just the same with all our patients. We are not perfect. We have tried our best, but it’s not entirely in our control.

99e09f1ded3760d3600af656eaad08b6Do not envy us. We have paid the price. Hectic schedules, ruined circadian cycle, missed moments with family and friends, broken relationships, neglected children; you name it, we’ve got it all. We have paid it with our most valuable thing: our own life.

photo (1)

Do we mind? Sometimes. Do we regret? Absolutely not. We have no regret choosing to be a doctor, nor being one. It’s not only a job, it’s not only a profession, it’s not even about being noble; it’s a passion. It’s our pride; it’s our sin. It’s both our gift and our curse. We are proud of being a doctor; we will cope with all the good and the bad things.

Wanna be happy and healthy and safe? Don’t be a doctor. Hire a good one. 🙂

photo

 

Here is a beautiful writing by one of my fellow doctor, UmaDevi RamaRao.

Somebody asked me, “You’re a doctor? How much do you make?”
I replied, “How much do I make?”
I can make holding your hand seem like the most important thing in the world when you’re scared…
I can make your child breathe when they stop…
I can help your father survive a heart attack…
I can make myself get up at 4 a.m. to make sure your mother has the medicine she needs to live… and I will work straight through until 4 a.m. to keep her alive and start the day all over again!
I work all day to save the lives of strangers…
I will drop everything and run a code blue for hours trying to keep you alive!
I make my family wait for dinner until I know your family member is taken care of…
I make myself skip lunch so that I can make sure that everything I did for your wife today was correct…
I work weekends and holidays and all through the night because people don’t just get sick Monday through Saturday and during normal working hours.
Today, I might save your life.
How much do I make?
All I know is, I make a difference.

LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.

 

Buat yang bilang jadi dokter itu enak, coba deh lalui ‘proses menjadi’-nya. 🙂

 

A joke to make you smile through the day… 😀

ee8c3cda5341718a4f4437559a1cdc52

 

Leave a Reply

