Random Childhood Memories


Today, as I was helping my mother in the kitchen, she suddenly spoke, out of nowhere, telling me, “If you have kids on your own, make sure that you raise them by yourself. Do not let your children being taken care by baby sitters all of the time. Not even by me. You know why?” And I, spontaneously, replied, “Why?”

She answered, “Because, if you let your children spend more time with anyone else other than you or your husband as their parents, you will be missing lots of moments, precious simple moments of your kids’ childhood, milestones, etc, such as unexpected random statements, random thoughts, random questions… simple things you will not be able to imagine to come from a kid. And if you let other people to have those opportunities, you will clearly miss a lot of things from your own children.”

And so, I decided to tease her a little, “So what about me? What was my unexpected random stuff?”

She smiled, “One of them – I remember when you were still two or three years in age; it was raining outside. You were climbing a chair, looking out of a window, and I was watching you from behind so you didn’t fall. And then, while looking at the raindrops falling from the sky, you asked, ‘How do you make rain?’”

“So? Did you tell me that it’s God who created rain and all?” I giggled.

“Of course no.” She laughed.

“Then?”

“I told you the truth. I explained how water evaporates and goes up to the sky, how they gather and form clouds, and so on. I simplified the words, of course.”

“And I was two or three?”

“Yup.”

“Did I understand it?”

“Well, I don’t know.” She chuckled. “I think you did. But I just wanted to tell you the truth; I didn’t want to feed you stories like God made the rain magically, or to pretend that I didn’t know, or to tell you to ask anyone else.” Seconds later she added, “In fact, I do know how rain occurs. All I did was to tell you what I knew. Simple as that.”

 

And that is, dear friends, my mother – the very same woman who read storybooks to me every night before I went to sleep. And I finally understand why I can be what I am now – critical, skeptic, realistic, and yet a child at heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

