Because Someone Said So


20140501-205607.jpg

They told me not to cry, and I questioned why;
They shrugged, and simply said,
“Because someone said so.”
 
They taught me to be good, but I didn’t know if I could;
They merely stared, and whispered,
“You have to, because someone said so.”
 
They pushed me to follow the standard, and I knew it would be hard;
They judged, and pointed a finger,
“You have to, because someone said so.”
 
They asked me to be normal, as if they could describe normal;
I fought; they laughed and cursed,
“You have to, because someone said so.”
 
They forced me to confess my sins, and I couldn’t help a grin;
I was smiling, and they were wailing,
“You have to, because someone said so.”
 
Young fellows, there would come your turn;
In which you were expected to do several things,
Because “Someone said so.”
 
You would probably be lost, because you wouldn’t recognize the pattern;
Even when your heart was in doubt, they would say it’s a must,
Because “Someone said so.”
 
Nothing would be easier, now that things have gone too far;
Had I realized it earlier, that I didn’t have to do them all,
Just because someone said so.

Leave a Reply

