Closure


(written as a reply to a letter for Y)

 .

Dear X,

I am writing this while listening to Adele, and I want to say that I have always disagreed with her. I will never find someone like you – I will never find anyone like you, because you are you and I am me.

 .

Dear X,

Did you know that my favorite fairy tale is Cinderella? I love the simple plot about a girl met her prince, fell in love with him, while the prince insisted on finding her despite all the beautiful ladies throwing themselves at his feet (actually it’s the other way around, since it’s him who put the famous piece of shoe on girls’ feet). And in the end, they lived happily ever after together. Such a simple yet dreamy love story.

But, Honey, the tale ends when they found each other – I don’t know what happens afterwards, and I think no one will ever know. Fairy tales are fairy tales; we’re not supposed to make them as role models for our real life. That’s where I got it all wrong. I wanted to be a Cinderella, and you my Prince Charming.

 .

Dear X,

I now understand that not all stories has to end with the two main characters live happily together. It doesn’t work that way; love doesn’t work that way, and so did ours.

I fell in love with you, but I could also fall out of love with you, and I can fall in love with someone else in the future. You’re not my Prince Charming, but I’m not a princess after all, am I? Thus, I guess it’s just fair enough.

I now accept that you left – or was it me who run away?

 .

Dear X,

Life doesn’t end when love ends. Wounds are healed, and I am being healed. Sooner or later, we will find that we can finally move on and get through everything, because we are strong enough to fall in love again with another person.

 .

Dear X,

It’s not about “I dare you to let me be your one and only” (I’m quoting Adele again), because love is not a fixed formula; it’s a feeling, it’s the damn hormones and neurotransmitters – and who to blame if we cannot love someone anymore because we’ve lost the said “chemistry”? Love is giving. Love is not caring whether the person loves you back or not, and when the love stops working and making us crazy with each other, I think it’s okay. We’ve got our chances, we’ve done our best, and the rest is out of our control.

 .

Dear X,

So I guess this is our closure – this is my closure. You’ve got a piece of my heart with you, and you always will, just like you will always get a special place in my heart and memories. There’s no need to forget, because all that left is the good memories. You used to be a part of me, but now I am whole again. I am moving on and I am ready to love again.

 .

Dear X,

May we find happiness in our now separated paths.
Farewell, dear love; I am glad I met you.

.

Always,

Y

Leave a Reply

