…sed libera nos a malo*…


It was a dream
A lady and a guy were standing in the rain
A box was next to their feet
A little baby was in the box
A beautiful baby girl; she was crying

The lady and the guy looked at her
Their faces were blank
They raised their hands to their chest
And they sent prayers
To the so-called God

What were they saying?
I tried to listen, but the rain was so heavy
Yet I could hear the sob of the little one
Their faces were blank
They were holy; they were pious

What were they saying?
I knew I had to listen
They bowed their head, and whispered,
Baby, we will not take care of you
We wish that you will be happy and blessed.

I saw the box
They put a card on it
Please take care of the baby
The baby girl was crying
So loud I thought I wasn’t dreaming anymore

Baby, be safe, we have sent prayers for you
But we will not take care of you.
And then they left
The baby was crying
I was crying, too

In the middle of the rain, they left
The baby was alone
I was alone
Until she finally stopped crying
Yet nobody came to take her.


*Latin: ‘…but deliver us from evil…’ taken from ‘The Lord’s Prayer’ a.k.a. ‘Our Father’ a.k.a. ‘Pater Noster’

This was based on my dream on December 2014, after performing numerous autopsies on stillborns and newborns who were died due to abortion and infanticide, consecutively for several days.

People said as the time goes by and we do the job more frequently, it will eventually get easier and we will eventually get over it, but I guess some kinds of job leave traces that stay forever.

Leave a Reply

