People Who Have Inspired Me the Most


…in chronological order 🙂


Agatha Christie

christie

I first read her book when I was in Junior High School, and I liked Hercule Poirot instantly. Then I met Jane Marple, and those two fictional characters had ignited my interest in observing human behavior. I learn a lot about human psychology and my decision to pursue my education in forensic pathology has something to do with both of them. Agatha Christie’s books have influenced my mindset as well as my way of thinking, especially because I read them in a (considerably) young age. (My favorite is ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”!) I am so glad I picked one of her books in that book-rental shop long time ago, and until now, Hercule Poirot is still my biggest hero detective.


Taylor Swift

swiftTaylor Swift is the main reason why I started writing. I first listened to her “Fifteen” several years ago, and I have fallen in love with her songs ever since. Perhaps it’s the fact that we’re on the same age so that I feel that I could relate to her lyrics, and because when I listen to a song, I always put more attention to the lyrics than to the music. She’s sassy and she’s got a way with words, and even though I’m not very familiar with her life story (because I don’t do any fan-girling), I still adore her songs very much. Her songs are the ones I cry to when I’m broken-hearted, and the ones I hum when I’m happy. I also have other favorite singers, but Taylor will always get a special place in my heart.


Paulo Coelho

coelhoPaulo Coelho is a Brazilian best-selling author, and as cliché as you might have heard, his book I first read was “The Alchemist”. So far, my favorite is “Veronika Decides to Die”. His books inspire me a lot, especially in the journey to find myself. I learned how to have the courage to love (and to be loved), how not to be afraid of falling in love over and over again even though it sometimes hurt, how to let go of things we cannot change, how to enjoy the present, and that everything has thousands shades of grey. He writes a lot of controversial topics—he takes us to see those matters from various perspectives and he lets us learn the moral of the story without judging. His books have opened my mind so many times and sometimes he even has me questioning myself. I have learned a lot of myself from his books, and his provoking writings have always provoked my thoughts and my feelings. In the end, let’s just say that I’m a less judgmental person than I was because of Paulo Coelho.


Ajahn Brahm

brahmAjahn Brahmavamso is a Tibetan Buddhist monk and a writer. You might be surprised since I’m never a religious person (ha!), but I found his writings to be positive and universal. His writings and teachings have a great impact on my spiritual life, but the most important thing is I learned to love myself; I learned that I’m not perfect and it’s okay because nobody is and nobody has to. I learned to accept myself for who I am and what I am, while keep improving myself to be a better person—I learned to forgive myself for all my imperfection. Ajahn Brahm has taught me how to be happy. Ever since I read his books, I have become a more positive and a happier person, and I like the changes, because happiness is contagious and a happy person will spread the happiness to others. Ajahn Brahm has been invited to Indonesia for several times and I have attended his event twice, but unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to take a wefie with him. Anyway, I wish I could visit his temple in Perth someday.


Now you might notice that all of the people who have inspired me the most are writers.
Coincidence? I don’t think so 🙂

Leave a Reply

