You’re not that great


Sometimes I questioned myself as to why I did certain good deeds. Perhaps I just wanted something in return. Perhaps because I liked the person(s) whom I did those things for. Perhaps because I wanted people to think that I was a good person. Perhaps I just wanted to feel good about myself for doing such a noble thing. Or perhaps I was a good person indeed.

Then I realized that most of the time, I did good things to people because I wanted to show them that life wasn’t as bad as what they often thought and that there was still a piece of goodness in this world; I didn’t want them to lose faith in humanity.

And suddenly, Golda Meir’s words echoed in my mind,
“Don’t be so humble—you’re not that great.”

Leave a Reply

